Regina Pats Teddy Bear Toss History

In late November and early December I had a few people ask me about the Pats Teddy Bear Toss and it's history. One of the questions that I was asked a few times was: have the Pats ever been shutout for a Teddy Bear game? People seemed to recall that it happened one time but a few were certain it was twice (myself included). Unfortunately I never tracked this information, until now.

I wasn't sure when the Pats started the tradition, so I emailed Rob Vanstone. He replied that he wasn't certain so he forwarded my question to Brent Parker. Brent got back to me and he confirmed that the Pats started the tradition in 1997.

I decided to go and research the Pats Teddy Bear Toss history.

Leader-Post Ad for Teddy Toss in 1999.

- Only Grant Jacobsen has scored two Teddy Bear goals: 1999 and 2001.

- The Pats have indeed been blanked once during their Teddy Toss game. In 2012 Andrey Markov stopped 22 Pats shots as the Blades downed the Pats 7-0.

- In 2008, Pats fans showed their displeasure with the officiating of Sheldon Dean and Jason Mercer as they threw their bears onto the ice after a perceived bad call against Matt Strueby. The penalty call was Brandon's 4th powerplay in a row. Brandon failed to capitalize on the opportunity. Strueby went on to score the Pats lone goal at 14:31 of the 3rd as the Pats lost the game 3-1.

If my research is correct, Here are the Teddy Bear Toss results:

1997 Wed. Dec. 10 Kelowna Rockets Josh Holden (Adams, Kane) 6:32 (1st) W 6-4
1998 Fri. Dec. 11 Kelowna Rockets Jason Steenbergen (Murray) 2:38 (1st) L 4-3 (OT)
1999 Fri. Dec. 17 Moose Jaw Warriors Grant Jacobsen (Mosovsky, Murray) PP 18:15 (1st) T 2-2
2000 Fri. Dec. 15 Kelowna Rockets Chad Bassen (Thomas) 5:19 (2nd) L 6-4
2001 Wed. Dec. 12 Brandon Wheat Kings Grant Jacobsen (McDonald, Schlenker) 1:40 (2nd) W 3-1
2002 Tue. Dec. 10 Lethbridge Hurricanes Brennan Chapman (Tyson Mulock) 0:55 (3rd) W 2-1
2003 Sat. Dec. 13 Vancouver Giants Rick Rypien (McDonald, de Sousa) 8:56 (1st) L 6-3
2004 Sat. Dec. 11 Seattle Thunderbirds Jordan McGillivray (Hill, Waschuk) PP 18:04 (1st) L 5-2
2005 Sun. Dec. 11 Medicine Hat Tigers Michael Senseman (Duval, Pyett) 9:51 (2nd) W 4-1
2006 Fri. Dec. 01 Prince Albert Raiders Logan Pyett (McDonald, Scott) SH 18:15 (1st) L 5-4 (SO)
2007 Sat. Dec. 01 Kootenay Ice Kirt Hill (Kulchar) 5:40 (1st) L 4-3 (SO)
2008 Fri. Dec. 12 Brandon Wheat Kings Matt Strueby (Leffler, Weal) PP 14:31 (3rd) L 3-1
2009 Sat. Dec. 05 Brandon Wheat Kings Jordan Eberle SH 19:28 (2nd) L 6-4
2010 Fri. Dec. 03 Moose Jaw Warriors Carter Ashton (Weal, Frazee) 14:39 (1st) L 9-6
2011 Sat. Dec. 03 Red Deer Rebels Chandler Stephenson (Jobke, Weal) 11:05 (1st) W 5-3
2012 Sun. Dec. 09 Saskatoon Blades NO SCORE L 7-0
2013 Wed. Dec. 11 Kamloops Blazers Boston Leier (Stevenson, Sinitsyn) 10:02 (1st) L 4-3 (SO)
2014 Wed. Dec. 03 Brandon Wheat Kings Pavel Padakin 11:21 (1st) W 4-2
2015 Fri. Dec. 11 Kelowna Rockets Taylor Cooper (Brown) 10:02 (1st) L 4-3
2016 Fri. Dec. 09 Swift Current Broncos Riley Woods 11:45 (1st) W 8-1
2017 Fri. Dec. 08 Kelowna Rockets Josh Mahura (Bradley, Fleury) 4:00 (1st) L 7-5
2018 Sun. Dec. 02 Medicine Hat Tigers Sergei Alkhimov (Dubinsky, Wright) 6:28 (1st) L 3-2